Selection process 2017


Background to this year’s awards

At the end of Semester 1 students were asked (via an independent survey) to nominate an inspirational teacher and/or someone who had made a similar contribution to their experience outside the classroom. Students were also asked to provide a comment in support of their nomination.  A separate survey was made available for students to nominate inspirational research supervisors, and for the first time, overseas students were able to nominate an inspirational teacher from some of our overseas partner institutions.

Inspirational Teaching and Outstanding Student Support Nominations

A total of 1897 nominations were received nominating 894 individual staff / groups of staff for either an inspirational teaching award or outstanding student support across the four faculties, and directorates.

The selection process for the Inspirational Teaching Awards has followed the same methodology as previous years. Each faculty convened a panel to consider their nominations and used the criteria below to assess the impact the nominees have had on their students. Nominations were anonymised so that individual staff could not be identified. Each Faculty made 10 awards and these went forward as nominations for a University Inspirational Teaching Award. Similarly 3 staff were given a Faculty Award for Outstanding Student Support and were nominated for a University Award. A further 3 awards were made for Outstanding Student Support within Directorates, which were also nominated for a University Award.

The University Panel met on 10th May chaired by Christina Hughes (PVC Student Experience) along with Dr Graham Holden (Director of Learning & Teaching), David Laughton (Assistant Dean, Academic Development, SBS), Jeff Waldock (Subject Group Leader, ACES, PFHEA and NTF),  Luke Renwick (SHSU Education Officer & President Elect) and Stella Jones-Devitt (Head of Student Research & Evaluation, PFHEA, NTF and Learning & Teaching Ambassador for Teaching Excellence).  Juliet Hinrichsen (Juliet Hinrichsen (Head of Academic Professional Development, LEAD) and Professor Mick Healey (external reviewer, PFHEA, NTF) also contributed to the panel.

Inspirational Teaching (Overseas Partner) Nominations

A total of 349 nominations were received nominating 115 individual staff across six overseas partners, including those from Sheffield Hallam University who teach on overseas partner courses.

The University Panel met on 15th May chaired by Christina Hughes (PVC Student Experience). along with Dr Graham Holden (Director of Learning & Teaching), Kate Morse (Head of Educational Partnerships, SBS) and Theodore Nwankwo (International Students Rep, Sheffield Hallam Students Union).  Neil Hanney (Head of International, HWB) and Professor Mick Healey (external reviewer, PFHEA, NTF) also contributed to the panel.  The same criteria was used as for the University Inspirational Teaching Awards.


Inspirational Teaching Award

  1. Fostering enthusiasm for their subject and inspiring student engagement with learning
  2. Raising academic attainment by challenging students to achieve their full potential
  3. Transformational impact on students in their transition in, through and out of their programme of study.

Outstanding Student Support

  1. Supporting students and enabling them to achieve
  2. Impact on student retention and progression
  3. Providing exceptional support above and beyond what might normally be expected

Inspirational Research Supervisors

A total of 110 nominations were received from students, nominating 90 individual staff for an Inspirational Research Supervisor Award.  The nominations were then considered by a panel chaired by Professor Doug Cleaver and 5 Inspirational Research Supervisor Awards were made.