Selection process 2011

A total of 2600 students nominated 1000 individual members of staff or staff groups, from across the Faculties and Central Departments.  Twelve Research and Project Supervisors were also nominated.

Faculty Awards Selection Process:

The Heads of Learning, Teaching and Assessment (LTA) co-ordinated the Faculty selection panels with guidance that the selection should be based solely on the statements provided by the students. They  were asked to select up to 8 individuals per Faculty.  The Faculties selected 31 members of teaching staff  to go forward for the University Teaching Award, along with 2 outstanding members of support staff.

University Award Selection:

The final selection for the University Inspirational Teaching Award was made by Prof Philip Martin, Lorna Daley (Assistant Dean Academic Development, SBS), Scott Storey (Education Officer, Students’ Union ), Prof Barbara Dexter (External, National Teaching Fellow) and Dr Sally Bradley (Co-ordinator from Innovation and Professional Development Team, QESS).

The Research Supervisor Award selection was made by Prof Mike Smith, Prof Doug Cleaver (Chair of RDSC) and Ben Dowen (outgoing Education Officer, Students’ Union).

For the University Award, 23 Inspirational Teachers have been selected along with 2 Outstanding Support Staff and 7 Research / Project Supervisors.