Selection process 2014



In 2014 there were 22 Inspirational Teaching Awards, 2 team awards for Outstanding Student Support and 5 Inspirational Research Supervisors.

At the end of Semester 1 the 2013 – 2014 students completing the Student Barometer were asked to name an inspirational teacher, supervisor and/or someone who had made a similar contribution outside the classroom experience and explain how the individual had made a difference. A separate survey was made available for level 6 students. A total of 2960 undergraduate students, took the opportunity to nominate 921 individual members of staff across the four faculties.

The selection process for the Inspirational Teaching Awards has followed the same methodology as previous years. Each faculty convened a panel to consider their nominations and to put forward 15 from each faculty to be considered by the University Panel.

The University Panel met on 1st May and was chaired by Dr Graham Holden (University Head of Teaching, Learning and Assessment) along with Prof Sue Thompson (NTFS from Liverpool John Moores University), Prof Mike Bramhall (Assistant Dean Academic Development Faculty of ACES), Howard Duffy (Sheffield Hallam Students Union President) and Andrew Middleton (Head of Innovation and Professional Development, QESS).

In 2014 we introduced an additional category and students were asked to nominate groups of staff as well as individuals who have provided them with Outstanding Student Support with 451 different individuals and groups being nominated. These nominations were also considered by the University Panel on the 1st May

A total of 146 staff were also nominated by students for an Inspirational Research Supervisor Award which were considered by a panel chaired by Dr Doug Cleaver.