19 April 2018

Key discussion points and outcomes


Faculty and RIO Creating Knowledge plans
The Board received presentations from each Faculty Assistant Dean for Research (ADR) and the RIO Director. The Chair noted a number of common themes coming from the presentation of the plans requiring reflection and further consideration:

  • Financial model
  • Communications
  • horizon scanning
  • REF code of practice
  • AWP principles/consistency
  • alignment of research institutions
  • assets overlaps
  • KPI’s
  • differences between objectives and actions
  • PSOM RIO support
  • Post award support
  • Peer review

Research Platforms
The Board received a paper presented by Wayne Cranton confirming the three research platforms which are recognised as both current and future strength:

  • Healthy Independent Lives
  • Thriving, Inclusive Communities
  • Future Economics

Wayne will be working with the other Assistant Dean’s for Research to map existing research against the platforms.
Since this Pillar Board, Roger Eccleston provided more detail around the Plaforms in the Leadership Bulletin – May 2018

Centre for Behavioural Science and Applied Psychology (CEBSAP)
PW presented the paper requesting investment to create a new applied research centre ‘ CEBSAP’. The Board agreed the centre in principle but requested further costing and investment plans to be brought to the next meeting.

Northern Health Sciences Association (NHSA) Membership
The Chair informed the Board the membership had been approved which supports the Health Innovation Park research centre development.
CKIP Project Manager
The Chair informed the Board the approval for recruitment of a Project Manager (fixed term to December 2018) to support CKIP.


  1. Apologies for absence
  2. Record of the meeting on 27 March 2018
  3. Faculty and Research and Innovation Office Creating Knowledge plans
  4. Performance report
  5. Research Platforms
  6. Care 2050 / Proposed way forward
  7. Horizon Scanning and bid development
  8. Centre for Behavioural Science and Applied Psychology (CEBSAP)
  9. AOB
    1. Future agenda planning


Roger Eccleston (Chair), Claire Boot, Doug Cleaver, Martin Conway, Wayne Cranton, Anita Gurney, Steve Johnson, Ann Macaskill, Jill Nanson, Davina Porock, Emma Scoffield, Lloyd Snellgrove, Peter Wells, Nicola Woodroofe, Rachel Parnham – (Acting Minute Secretary) and guests presenting items.